A Letter From a Soldier to His Girlfriend

Sarah had contacted Jason earlier this year with an interesting request.  Her boyfriend, Lee was getting ready for deployment, and she wanted to give him something special… pin-up portraits on 4×6 prints that he could keep close to his heart.

Sarah and stylist, Jessie Wisler from Moxie Hair & Body Lounge arrived at our home studio about a month later for the shoot.  Sarah had so many great outfits and accessories that she had found in her travels to consignment shops in New York and around town.  The shoot was a blast.  It was very difficult, but Sarah managed to narrow down five images for print.  The images were printed on metallic paper bonded to canvas.   Below is an excerpt from Lee’s letter to Sarah upon receiving his gift.  I still tear up every time I read this.  Thank you so much, Lee and Sarah for allowing us to share these beautiful words.

Date: Aug. 26, 2008

Sarah,

I opened the package you sent. Wow. It is the single greatest gift I have ever received in my life. I wouldn’t trade those 5 pictures or the thought and sentiment behind them for anything in the whole world. It is the best thing anyone has ever done for me. I’m not exaggerating. The amount of time and thought and love that went into those floors me. You are simply a great woman, and a truly excellent girlfriend. I can’t stop looking at them and even thinking of them makes me smile continuously. They are my prized possessions. When someone asks that question about if your house was on fire what would you save? Its these. They are so great I can’t say enough about them. They were even more surprising because, as you predicted, I don’t remember that conversation exactly…but the important fact is that you did, and you understood that I was serious and you made it a 6 month project which shows love and dedication that truly impresses me and make me feel so humble to be allowed to be close to you. I love them all. You are so unspeakably beautiful and he captured that so well. I can’t say enough and don’t know what else to say. I love them. I love you.

-Lee

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Art

Leave a Reply

